It’s happened again. I’ve received another one of those form letter link requests that Belle has been talking about. I’m pumped up about it because it’s actually a great opportunity for me to dissect one and hopefully educate some people at the same time.
Though it’s apparent that the letter is completely generic, there were nuances that tried to make it look authentic — “A” for effort.
From: “Matt” <matt@SPAM-A-PALOOZA.com>
To: “Optiniche” <coinage@…>
Date: 06/02/07 9:21AM
Subject: I put your link, optiniche.com, on my site under Internet Marketing > Blog MarketingHi it’s Matt.
I saw your site, http://www.optiniche.com/, on Google under: Internet Marketing > Blog Marketing
I see that your site has an Alexa ranking of 40086. Not bad!
I have placed a link to your site in the Internet Marketing > Blog Marketing section of my site. You can check it out at:
http://www.SPAM-A-PALOOZA.com/LINK-FARM/
RANDOM-PAGE-9-LEVELS-DEEP.htmlIt says:
Helping You To Optimize and Monetize Your WordPress Niche BlogIf you link back to me your site will appear near the top of the directory. You may find linking and banner codes at:
http://www.SPAM-A-PALOOZA.com/linktous.html or just use this code:<a href=”http://www.SPAM-A-PALOOZA.com” size=”2″ face=”Arial”><strong>Start your own safelist business. Not an affiliate program. You keep all the money. Click here.</strong></font></a>
(If you have already linked back to me thank you and please disregard this email)
Your link, http://www.optiniche.com/ , will eventually be rotated off if you do not choose to link back to me.
If you have any other ideas about joint ventures let me know.
I will just contact you once about this as I do not want to bother you.
Thanks,
Matt
(XXX) XXX 8684XXXX E. Las Olas Blvd.
Ft. Lauderdale Fl. 33301
USATo no longer here from us simply execute this link once.
http://www.CLICK-HERE-FOR-MORE-SPAM.net/
?c=819161&p=8891
Did you catch all of the nuances in there? Did you see how he started it with a “hi it’s Matt”, like I know him or something, and the reference to my (inaccurate) Alexa ranking followed by that peppy “not bad” pat on the back? He even provided me with the complete link code including deprecated font formatting and everything.
Learn from “Matt”. This is how not to network with bloggers and other web site owners. If you are planning to use this type of link building technique, then here’s what your e-mail should say:
Hello, you don’t know me, but I scammed your e-mail from your website like a common spambot and decided to add you to my
spamsafe list.I’m sorry if this isn’t kosher with you, but please hear me out. I just imported some data from the DMOZ (or Google) directory and, by chance, a link to your website ended up on a random page guaranteed not to see the light of day somewhere on my website (which, by the way, is completely unrelated to your website).
In return, you’re to add a link from your “better and more popular” website, otherwise I’ll be forced to remove your link from my link farm.
Now, if you were naive enough to listen to me and did as I said, I’m completely baffled, but thank you. I’ll be sure to keep your link up on that random page until I’m sure you’ve forgotten about it (not a minute sooner), then remove it before moving on to the next
suckerwebmaster.Sincerely,
Innocuously Common Name (preferably one from the Bible, other than Satan)
Your new friendTo stop receiving notifications from us, click the unsubscribe link below:
http://www.i-got-your-email-now-sucka.com/?unsub(Disclaimer: click the unsubscribe link above only if you wish to confirm that you want more spam delivered to this e-mail account.)
If you are fortunate enough to receive one of these generic letters, it means that your site has reached the popularity threshold and crossed over into the spammer radar — congratulations. Use it as another opportunity to earn more money from your blog or website.
Do as Belle (via Alex King) advises; respond with a link to your advertising rates (with a noreply@… e-mail addy, of course) and if the spammer was silly enough to include a working phone number, consider calling him too.



I have actually had “legitimate” companies send me junk like that as well. All they have to do is link to me with a relevant post to get a few PR5 backlinks (though those pages have a fair few links on them).
# June 4th, 2007
I know what you mean, Andy. I’ve also had some legitimate companies do this and it always makes me shudder.
Funny thing is, when I responded to one gentleman informing him that if he wanted a high PR back link to his site (assuming it wasn’t a spamfest), all he needed to do was leave a well thought out comment on one of the blog entries.
He responded back with nevermind. That was baffling, but I guess some people just want to take the easiest possible way out.
~ Teli
# June 4th, 2007
Well, stuff like that can happen and is very inevitable. I have some mails like that before. It can be funny and at the same time annoying!
# November 29th, 2007